PRACTICING THE PHARMAKON: On the Algorithm of the Thick Skin

PRACTICING THE PHARMAKON: On the Algorithm of the Thick Skin

AGENT SWARM

I have had a long experience of my comments and interventions disappearing or being unnoticed because juxtaposed to comments from “more important” interlocutors, or of being deliberately ignored. So I have taken the step that everything I write on blogs, on facebook, on twitter, etc, insofar as it has an intellectual content, I reproduce either directly or transformed on my blog. I take seriously Bernard Stiegler’s diagnosis that social networks are pharmaka, capable of being both toxic and curative (in terms of processes of individuation) and I try to apply his precept “we must practice the pharmakon”. Usually I give a link back on the original site to my blog. So I think the image of “self-advertising” that may be projected onto this procedure is, while not completely false, unnecessarily reductive.

Some people recommend developping a “thick skin” as a useful strategy for dealing with on-line dialogue. I do not…

View original post 122 more words

Leave a Reply

